top of page

Introducing: The Fashion Mermaid

You know how sometimes certain events are just meant to happen? I can truly say meeting this queen was definitely one of them.

One Sunday at a mutual friends brunch, we were two of the first three people to arrive of course, so we casually introduced ourselves, you know small talk. I am not too sure how we got onto the topic of her showing me some of her dope designs and building a creative connection, but it happened.

Kiara Quick the founder and genuis mind behind her company and brand Fashion Mermaid INC. has such an inspiring story that we believe a lot of emerging creatives can benefit from. This woman is wise beyond words and I pray you appreciate her and what she is bringing to the fashion / creative industry.

Can you please tell us about yourself and where you come from?

My name is Kiara Quick and I have a beautiful daughter Logan Marley. I was born in a broken home, birthed in a broken home! Lost my guardian at the age of twelve. Most would say that I was doomed from the beginning, but God said you are my child and you shall prosper. I am thankful to have strong women in my life that took over after losing my grandmother (my guardian). I have learned that nothing stops you unless you let it because there are so many turns I could have taken, living this hard life, yet I stayed focused.

What made you gain your passion for fashion and what role do you play in the industry?

As a little girl my Aunt Freeda would dress me up as her barbie doll all the time. She had two sons and she helped my grandmother raise me; so I was like her little prodigy lol. I was always popular at school because of my fashion sense and would always be nominated in the yearbook as either most attractive, best dresses, or best hair. I love dressing up and now I have a mini me to dress. My role in the industry and my true passion is to make women feel empowered, beautiful and confident! I feel as though that’s what I represent.

Being a creative in such a competitive industry, how were you able to make the moves you have made this far?

Honestly by the grace of God. I pray all the time for what I want and we truly have the ability to speak things into existence.

What are some of the most, what you would call successful moves for you? Were they hard to accomplish and if so, how did you overcome these hardships?

“Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle”. The biggest accomplishment for me was being the first generation college graduate at the age of 27. College was not implemented in my household; I also got pregnant in college, I dropped out and started working, but I knew I had to finish. I went back and I successfully finished with a degree in Mathematics ( I know this is different from fashion, but I love numbers and I’m a lo key nerd) from Trinity Washington University and my beautiful daughter was there to witness her moms biggest accomplishment. What helped me overcome my warships; because it was extremely hard going to school, working, raising a baby, while also being an entrepreneur, was the time I did have with my grandmother. And what she instilled some key qualities in me that stood with me. I knew I had to conquer every goal and every dream I had planned out for myself and that’s what I am doing, no matter how long it takes.

Not only are you an emerging creative, but you also have a beautiful daughter Logan, who not to long ago just celebrated her 7th birthday. How is it being a fab mom, and still succeeding with your goals?

It feels good to not use having my daughter as an excuse to not flourish, if anything she has made me even more determined than I ever was. I take my hat off to all the women out there raising babies and businesses.

Besides Logan being an inspiration to keep going, what else does she push you to do?

She pushes me to be a great mother, some say I do entirely too much but my mom didn’t raise me so I don’t ever want her to feel like she can’t lean on me. I want her to have the best of this life and know that she can always call on mommy.

Since, we are talking about the kids, you have planned this beautiful “ Back-To-School Confidence Builder” event within your community, back home in Silver Spring Maryland? Can you explain more in detail about the event and what was your inspiration to do so?

This event is free and will promote leadership, education, success, and confidence building. We want to encourage the girls to always live in the skin they are in and always strive to be their best, put their best foot forward and never give up. During this event we will have motivational speakers and a few surprises for the girls, one to include a backpack with school supplies. In effort to make sure every girl leaves with a backpack, I have reached out to people and businesses around the country asking for donations in efforts to help support this special event. We are asking for backpacks and school supplies.

Being a female and raising one, I know the importance of being confident about yourself, I do believe that if you’re confident about yourself you’re more outgoing. It is extremely important to tell our young queens that they are beautiful and to encourage them to seek knowledge.

Being from the DMV area and knowing how much of a positive impact this will have on the kids, teenagers and sometimes even the adults. Do you plan on having this yearly, or include sub-events in between?

Of course September 3rd, 2015 will be the first annual Fashion Mermaid Inc event. I plan on doing many, many,more events for the youth to uplift them.

Were there any times in your life where you felt, you weren’t confident enough for this world, and how did you overcome that?

Yes! On more than one occasion actually. I have a story to tell and when I tell it the whole world will know my struggles and “maybe if they knew how much I lost, it wouldn’t bother them so much to watch me win”.

Okay so lets see what are the biggest confident building tips you can give to someone?

1. Wake up every morning with a positive outlook

2. Know that you are beautiful (hold your head up and be bold)

3. Always turn a negative into a positive.

4. The way we dress affects our mood and the way we think, so step out in your uniqueness and shine

5. Repeat after me “ I am beautiful and I am the Queen of the most high GOD”

For someone who may be reading, and following the Tynishalenee.com blog, following in your footsteps, what are the three to five biggest life/ goal oriented tips/ inspirational messages you can offer?

1. Nothing stops you unless you let it

2. Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle

3. Know your worth

Relating all of this back to fashion, how do you plan to continue to build the fashion/ creative arts scene in the DMV?

I plan on building up our youth through fashion/creative arts by allowing them to dress themselves in their own unique way and expressing their feelings. Allowing them to create their own style and to know that it’s not about labels its about how you put the pieces you have together.

Bless you queen! Not only are you building up the community, but you are building up the community through our youth in fashion and we truly appreciate you and your story. If any of you are looking to help Kiara in her future endeavors, she will need interns, photographers, D'Js, Media (bloggers) you name it. If you are in the D.C, Maryland and VA area, she would love your help. Lets connect, vibe and build each other to where we need to be. Uplift and support!

Social Media: _fashion_mermaid

Logan’s Social Media (My daughter): logan_marley09


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
bottom of page