top of page

The Grind Don't Stop: Franky J

You have to give it up for the people who are the busiest doing purposeful things, but also spread themselves thin for others. I can honestly say, with the little interaction Dana and I have had, she gives off such vibes.

I actually first connected with Dana through Twitter because she had posted a job opening at her store in DC and ever since then we have stayed in contact. We definitely share similar aspirations and goals, and it's amazing to see her finally doing something full time that she loves, including serving other people.

The beautiful thing is when I told her I moved to NY to go after my dreams and career, she shared the same excitement and celebration with me, as I did for her becoming a full time stylist. I am sure she is another advocate of the many places, people, and jobs life will take you through before you find and get what you deserve. So enjoy the process, and take every step as a chance to grow in different areas of your life, almost like exercising a muscle, you've never focused on before.

What should we know about Dana?

I am a DC Native who has always had a keen, unique eye for style. I worked in retail management for years and did modeling and styling on the side for years. I then had a unique opportunity in DC to be a full-time stylist. It's definitely not the easiest job but amazing clients make it worth it.

How are you using all of these platforms to gain a loyal following in the DC area?

I do a ton of style posts or inspiration posts about fashion. I try to post weekly to gain clients but sometimes it's about going out and meeting clients organically has proven to be the best for me. Social media only gets you so far.

Having your hands in so many pots. From where you work, to what you do on your free-time, what is something freeing you can do to go out and attract those clients?

I love dancing! Music really gets me going. That's something most folks I know would know about me. I love food as well. I'm a serious foodie.

Being from the DMV area, born and raised, and having a passion in the arts more importantly fashion. How did you get started with your blog, working with trunk club? And was it an intimidating process?

I started blogging in 2009 when blogging was not a huge thing to do in DC. I started with The "Diary of Franky J" which was a blog about whatever I wanted to write about. I then made my way to a cookout in 2014 and "Skinny Girls Like To Eat Too" came about. That encompassed all things I love from fashion to food so it felt like me. Trunk Club challenges me everyday! You never know what day it's going to be but the key is to keep going and to grind and possibly harder than everyone else.

What is your ultimate end goal? If you can have it your way right now, what would you want to be doing while making successful figures?

My ultimate goal is to be a stylist and possibly with my own business at some point down the line. I know it will be a lot of work but if I want to have a family and work my own schedule, it's the only way. If I had it my way, I would be living in New York with my future husband, whoever that may be. A girl can dream right?! Lol! But it would be to be doing my styling thing in New York.

If you are able to share, what is your next move?

My next move isn't quite clear. I'm going to keep grinding at Trunk Club and it might present my next move while I'm there.

What is your biggest motivation and how do you use that to keep going?

My biggest motivation is other black stylists that have made an impact. That really keeps me going, like I want that to be me one day.

Can you share with us your biggest strength and your biggest weakness, that helped you get to where you are today, and helped you grow.

My biggest strength is resilience to things going on around me and to not let them affect me in my work environment or take away from my hustle. My biggest weakness, hmmm...not sure if I have one or I haven't discovered it yet.

In your opinion, how can we create a creative fashion center in the DMV area that can be respectable?

I honestly think it's already here. It's just us all connecting and with the same vision. I think a meet up would be pretty cool. I know their are some that happen in DC but not enough.

What are your 3-5 biggest tips to give to someone trying to emerge in this industry?

Intern, intern, INTERN! And network your life away. I would say to make sure whatever creatives in the fashion world are putting out there is a clean and crisp name for themselves. And what I mean by this is making sure photos are well done, no grammatical errors, and being professional. Being professional is HUGE and at all times!

Are you going to be involved in any events, that our followers can come and support and greet and meet?

As of right now, no major events but we'll see what the future holds.

I can say Dana you are truly a blessing to DC and the arts, and we know you will continue to rise. Please follow Dana on all social media outlets to keep up with all the amazing things she is and will do. Hit her up, she's super dope and knows about all the cool stuff in the DMV area.

Instagram: Franky1

Twitter: ItsFrankyJ

Blog: www.skinnygirlsliketoeatoo.wordpress.com

Trunk Club: www.trunkclub.com/djames

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
bottom of page